Shortest Day of The Year

AT 6.10am I dragged myself out of my sick bed to snap the winter solstice sunrise this morning. I had to do it for peace of mind. But it was about as exciting as a fractured arm. I should have stayed in bed (moan). The winter solstice is an astronomical phenomenon marking the day with the shortest period of daylight and the longest night of the year. In the Northern Hemisphere this is the December solstice and in the Southern Hemisphere this is the June solstice. The sun popped over the horizon where I was at about 6.36am. Queensland, Gold Coast, Australia.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

